Nervous

I really don’t think you understand how nervous I was when I realized I loved you. I didn’t even know your name and you didn’t know mine. I didn’t know if you were married, single or otherwise. I just saw you and fell hard. It sounds mushy and foolish. At the time I tried to tell myself that I was being a silly, young girl and that I needed to be realistic. But something deeper than my brain or my heart told me otherwise. Who I was, maybe even my soul said to reach out to you, that if you were open enough and if you agreed to go out with me that we would be together forever. This was all going on in my 16 year-old head.

Can you imagine how nervous I was? My hair was orange, I wore no make-up and I was a year into braces. It’s not like I had reasons to be confident. I had to have faith that everything would work out if I listened to my inner self. From that first moment I saw you I saw my future, my purpose. I knew that with you I could do anything. I remember trying to get information about you and found out you weren’t married, you were single. I tried finding out as much information about you before I made that leap of faith. You caught on pretty quickly, probably because the co-workers I sent out to get information weren’t really good at doing so. Eventually you called me out on it and I had to take that leap of faith. You rewarded that by agreeing to go to dinner and a movie with me. I was elated, thrilled and what do I wear to the first date with the love of my life? I wear a white mustang t-shirt and jeans, classy. I still remember that date, how I was so careful while eating with braces and seeing James Bond. I remember in the days after I got your phone number so we could talk. We did talk, for hours on end. The rest, of course, is history, but I’ll always remember that initial time, when I was so nervous to speak to you. I knew with every bone in my body that we were meant to be, I just didn’t want to screw that up. So far, it appears I haven’t.

That was the last time I was ever nervous because having you in my life has been the most calming thing. I always felt that before you, there was this stormy unsettled ocean inside me and when you came into my life that ocean became calm and peaceful. You settled my nerves and calmed my restless spirit. I know that whatever happens, you’ll be there for me and that’s more than I could ever ask for. I love you.

Daily Word Prompt:
Nervous

Published by

creativeboho

I'm a Full-Time Paralegal and getting my B.A.S. in Supervision and Management. I've always loved to write and hope to write at least one book that will be published. That's the overall goal. When I'm not writing, working or studying I like to hang out with my husband and our three furry kids.

Leave a Reply

