The Dating Culture Today

What is the dating culture in these modern times? I’ve been out of the single life for over ten years now. I’m not bragging about it, just relieved at times because dating as an adult now, seems more complicated that it used to be. What ever happened to meeting someone and simply saying, “You seem cool, would you like to go out? Get a coffee? Grab some lunch?” When did it become so complicated? When did our culture support a “dating app” called Tinder over traditional dating?

I have a dear friend, one of the closest friends I’ve ever had, really don’t know what I did to deserve her. Anyways, she is one of the funniest real women out there and she has to face the struggle of meeting someone genuine. It’s hard to do that with online dating sites because you never know who is there for something real and who is there for simply a one night stand. I feel like dating is moving further away from meeting face to face and more towards ordering a date online like you would a pizza.

Now, to add to this, I’m not knocking online dating. I know people who have met the love of their life through an online dating site. I think for certain situations it is a great alternative, it saves time for people who don’t have the time to just run into people on the street . My overall opinion is that you don’t want to put all of your eggs in one basket. I think a good mix between real life and online would balance out perfectly and result in Mr. or Ms. Right.

Daily Prompt Word:

Culture

Published by

creativeboho

I'm a Full-Time Paralegal and getting my B.A.S. in Supervision and Management. I've always loved to write and hope to write at least one book that will be published. That's the overall goal. When I'm not writing, working or studying I like to hang out with my husband and our three furry kids.

2 thoughts on “The Dating Culture Today”

Leave a Reply

