Maybe Another Time

To me, Maybe is just such a negative word. It can be positive, but I just always associate a type of negativity with it. Not sure why. It kind of takes me back to when I was a child, I’d ask my mom for something or if we could do something and she would say the dreaded “maybe.” Which often meant no. So maybe that is why every time I hear that word I cringe like someone has scrapped their fingernails on a chalkboard.

The term maybe just sounds like a set-up to no or to failure. Maybe I’ll pass this class or maybe I’ll look for another job. Just seems like an excuse type of word that we use, so in case we do not succeed we can look back and state that we didn’t 100% confirm it. We said “maybe.” I really try to avoid that word as much as possible. I think the only time I use it is when there’s a discussion about money or a big bill.

The worst use of maybe, is when it’s used to excuse seeing someone. Maybe I’ll see them later this week or maybe I’ll set something up for next week. You never know what could happen to any of us and you may miss the opportunity to see that person again. It’s just that harsh reality. So join me in this goal of mine, to limit the number of times we use maybe.

Daily Prompt Word:

Maybe

Published by

creativeboho

I'm a Full-Time Paralegal and getting my B.A.S. in Supervision and Management. I've always loved to write and hope to write at least one book that will be published. That's the overall goal. When I'm not writing, working or studying I like to hang out with my husband and our three furry kids.

Leave a Reply

