Krampus-A Review

MV5BMjk0MjMzMTI3NV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwODEyODkxNzE@__V1_SX640_SY720_I didn’t get an opportunity to see this movie in theaters, but got a chance to check it out the day it came out on Redbox. I didn’t really know what to expect before watching it. I knew it was a Christmas/Holiday movie, but it looked dark as well. As I try to do with each movie that I watch, I went in with an open mind and was pleasantly surprised. The movie, although boasting some comedic actors was surprisingly dramatic, eerie and deep. All of the actors in the movie performed wonderfully.

The basic synopsis is: When his dysfunctional family clashes over the holidays, young Max is disillusioned and turns his back on Christmas. Little does he know, this lack of festive spirit has unleashed the wrath of Krampus: a demonic force of ancient evil intent on punishing non-believers.

The story is well thought out. You get to know the family that the film focuses on and realize that some of the relatives in the film closely mimic those in your life as well. Very relatable characters in general. The story doesn’t waste too much time with its set up or its message. It really gets right to the point that we take the holidays and the meaning of the holidays in a different direction than we’re supposed to. So we better be careful, otherwise Krampus may come.

krampus-movieweb

The movie has an overall authentic, class holiday movie feel. It also tackles issues with faith, relationships and of course with the horror of Krampus and his minions. The movie has a creepy feel and you keep holding your breath to see that Krampus creature. The ending was surprising and different. The movie has a clear mission and message for the viewer and I enjoyed the way they shared it. Definitely worth a watch in my opinion. My husband asked if it would be in my yearly Christmas movie watch list, I said it just might be.

Considering the acting, the story and the overall feel, I would give this film a 9/10. I gave it a little higher rating because there are very few current horror/thriller movies that actually creep me out like this one.

Published by

creativeboho

I'm a Full-Time Paralegal and getting my B.A.S. in Supervision and Management. I've always loved to write and hope to write at least one book that will be published. That's the overall goal. When I'm not writing, working or studying I like to hang out with my husband and our three furry kids.

Leave a Reply

