July 4th-Celebration 5K

13615301_10154366108728331_6424794953064331868_nI really had a good fourth of July holiday this year, which coincidentally was my cousin’s birthday as well! Early July 4th I participated in a Celebration 5K. It sounded like a great thing to do a week ago, but then when I woke up around 5:50a.m. on my day off, it suddenly didn’t seem like such a great idea. But I shuffled out of bed and went, because it was a healthy activity and I had no excuse not to, except for sleep, but oh well. I thought that it was pretty low to complain about such a simple sacrifice to celebrate such an important day.

It was a few minutes before the race started and they were trying to get a few people to carry some of the american flags they had remaining. Before the race you had the option of signing up for this and then at the race they encourage people to carry the flag in a show of honor and support. I saw this young volunteer walking up and down the line trying to see if someone wanted to hold the two flags he had remaining. He got one person and then couldn’t get another. I had a thought for a brief moment, has it come to this? Is it at the point where someone has to nearly beg/plead for another to hold the american flag as a sign of support?

I raised my hand and volunteered. I knew the flag would get in the way (and it did) but I also felt it was important to show some pride on a patriotic day. It was a hot, sweaty almost unbearable race. At times the flag was in the way and would slip because of my sweaty hands, but I was proud to carry it and proud to finish the race f it. I think there is significance in respecting your country’s history and paying respect to its beginnings. I know that everyone does so in their own way. This was my way. Hope everyone had a nice holiday weekend!!

Published by

creativeboho

I'm a Full-Time Paralegal and getting my B.A.S. in Supervision and Management. I've always loved to write and hope to write at least one book that will be published. That's the overall goal. When I'm not writing, working or studying I like to hang out with my husband and our three furry kids.

Leave a Reply

