Joy-A Review

JoyfilmposterFinally got to watch this movie recently, after not getting a chance to watch it in theaters. I was really intrigued because the initial trailer was so random and I had no idea what it was about, but it had a lot of the same cast members from Silver Linings Playbook so I was interested in seeing it partly because of this as well. I learned before watching the movie that it was about the rise of Joy Mangano who is an inventor and business woman. The movie chronicles her life leading up to her first invention, the self-wringing Miracle Mop.

There are no complaints about the acting, Jennifer Lawrence, Robert Deniro and Bradley Cooper all give stellar performances. Virgina Madsen also gives a wonderful performance as Joy’s mother. I think everyone cared about this movie and it shows in their acting through every scene. I really didn’t see anyone phoning it in at all during this movie. You understood each character and felt for certain characters. You can make it personal as you watch this movie.

landscape-1450976120-joy-index

The writing was well done as well. You wouldn’t think that a story about someone inventing a mop would keep you interested but it does. You watch as Joy experiences wins and losses as she grasps her way to becoming a better woman, mother and businesswoman. I really liked the story and it helped me understand who Joy is (the real Joy is alive) and what she had to go through to get there. Whatever you don’t see on camera is explained in words on the screen at the end, so there’s no loose ends of information, in my opinion.

The overall feel is empowerment. I don’t know about how men would feel watching this movie, but as a woman I felt empowered. To see what she had to go through to get noticed and accepted was amazing and pioneering for women who wanted to get into business. While watching you get excited for her, frustrated with her and empowered when she manages to get the pieces together. Definitely worth the rental or watch to check it out. Overall considering the acting, story and overall feel I would give this film a 9/10. Really enjoyed it.

Published by

creativeboho

I'm a Full-Time Paralegal and getting my B.A.S. in Supervision and Management. I've always loved to write and hope to write at least one book that will be published. That's the overall goal. When I'm not writing, working or studying I like to hang out with my husband and our three furry kids.

Leave a Reply

