I’m Chevy Chase…and You’re Not-Book Review

Im Chevy Chase and Youre Not

I want to paint a picture for you…of a young girl age 8 in her Christmas pajamas. She’s watching a Christmas movie that she and her family watches every year. The girl not only enjoys it because it’s funny, but also because the dad in that film reminded her of her own dad. The film was about a notorious family just trying to celebrate the holidays with the usually traditions. Yes, I’m talking about Christmas Vacation. And yes, that young girl was me. I grew up watching Chevy Chase movies with my parents and loved them very dearly. I thought Chevy Chase was hilarious and I could’ve sworn he was a long-lost brother of my father. Seriously, they look very much alike.

Anyways, I grew up with Chevy Chase and was crushed when he started not appearing in the movies or on television, as much as he used to. I thought maybe he retired or was taking a break. Which really was the case. I got excited when he resurfaced again on a TV show called community. But I wanted more. I just couldn’t understand how one of America’s most beloved comedians/actors just suddenly became second fiddle to a bunch of young actors. I didn’t realize that there was an answer to these questions until I found his biography at the library. I saw it and just had to read it immediately.

The biography is less than 300 pages, so I was able to read it quickly. The book was a natural timeline, starting from Chevy’s birth to his decision to pull away from Hollywood. I learned things that I never before knew about Chevy Chase. I learned that he was physically abused constantly by his mother. I learned that a misunderstanding with a studio head and his wife, led to Chevy being professionally sabotaged. There had been a recent rumor that he had used the N word to describe a fellow actor on the show Community, but as the book explains, the press takes everything out of context. Chevy was upset at how some characters were being portrayed and that argument caused someone to say that he was being racist. Which in reality Chevy was not. He had hung out with people from different backgrounds frequently as an adult, with blues musicians he idled. But somehow, he was labeled a racist. I got to see a different side of the comedian/actor that reaffirmed what I had always thought of him. That he is a good person and deserves good things too. I really hope he regains popularity again soon, on both TV and movie screens.

For his book, I would rate it 9/10.

Published by

creativeboho

I'm a Full-Time Paralegal and getting my B.A.S. in Supervision and Management. I've always loved to write and hope to write at least one book that will be published. That's the overall goal. When I'm not writing, working or studying I like to hang out with my husband and our three furry kids.

Leave a Reply

