Trainwreck-The Review

Trainwreck-Pic

To be honest, when Amy Schumer first came into the public eye, I wasn’t so sure I would like her style of comedy or the way she conducted herself. I thought, do we really need a female version of Seth Rogan? Nothing against him, I just didn’t to see a woman needing to stoop to that comedy in order to be noticed. I know that women can be funny in all sorts of ways. Take me for instance, I can make people laugh, some have mentioned or joked that I should do standup. The problem is, I think my comedy comes from just being myself in everyday conversations. Who knows what would happen if I went on a stage to try to be funny. Anyways, there’s a point to this. In the comedy world, I feel that the majority of the films have been overtly sexual and/or raunchy. I’ve grown weary of watching another comedy that had more language and sex than actual substance and heart.

I had been putting off seeing Trainwreck for the reasons mentioned above, however I heard from a review that it was an important movie for women everywhere, that it broke boundaries. After months of avoiding the film I finally decided to risk it and watch it. I was pleasantly surprised as the movie and its story laid out before me. There really wasn’t a whole lot of sex, the language was tamer than I expected and there was definitely more heart than I would have ever expected. The basic synopsis of the film (from IMDb): Having thought that monogamy was never possible, a commitment-phobic career woman may have to face her fears when she meets a good guy. Amy Schumer plays the commitment-phobic woman and the good guy is played by SNL alum Bill Hader. They both have great chemistry in the movie as well as good dialogue.

The writing is fantastic, written by Amy Schumer of course, with its execution of drama, comedy and realism. It’s a story that seems more real and less all-positive romantic comedy. Schumer does a great job of having you keep track of what’s going on in the lives of multiple characters. You watch as all three of them grow throughout the timeline of the film and are satisfied with where they end up at the conclusion of the film. It was truly an amazing film covering many current topics of today: women in the workplace breaking the glass ceiling, women currently dating, whether a woman can be “adventurous” and the workings of a relationship. It really is a beautiful film and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a different, refreshing comedy. I’m really looking forward to Amy Schumer’s next film.

Addendum: I realized that to do a review, you must have some sort of conclusion or rating at the end. Considering the story, the acting and the direction, I would give this film a solid 9/10.

Published by

creativeboho

I'm a Full-Time Paralegal and getting my B.A.S. in Supervision and Management. I've always loved to write and hope to write at least one book that will be published. That's the overall goal. When I'm not writing, working or studying I like to hang out with my husband and our three furry kids.

Leave a Reply

