Where’s the Respect?

Where’s the Respect?
By Allison Cook

I find myself asking the questions above more and more as time progresses. I find that it’s becoming a trend not to respect your fellow man. I know this is nothing new, people have been losing more and more respect for each other as the years go by. My eyes really opened up to this when I started living in an apartment 5 years ago. You would think that when 8 units share one building, everyone would quietly live their lives with respect for others in the building. Nope. That is not always the case.

Sometimes you have that perfect mix of people, all living in their apartments living out life without causing a peep of noise. But this never lasts long, because are always moving in and out of apartments. Your perfect mix of respectable individuals gets switched out and mixed in with partiers and the like. I have nothing against parties or people celebrating life events, but there’s a line that you don’t cross. Like when there’s a 10p.m. sound restriction in the complex, that doesn’t mean party until 4 or 5a.m.

When you’re driving on the road, be considerate and aware of other drivers. Having a bad day? Then please go to the slow lane and calmly make your way home. Riding someone’s bumper? Then try and give them a second and if they are still bothering you, calmly go around them. These are things I have to tell myself every day, as I have a good drive from home to work and then work to home. I always try to have the thought process that hey, you have no idea what the person in front of you, beside you or behind you has been through. We have to try and treat people, each other with respect.

What I really think would be beneficial to everyone in the world, is the requirement to take customer service training. No matter what the profession I think everyone would benefit from this type of training both professionally and personally. Think about it, everyone being trained to understand that every person is different and that you should treat everyone with respect, especially when you first meet them. Maybe there’s a simpler way to solve the problem, I just don’t have the solution in my head right now. I wish I did.

All I can do now is vent my frustrations and views and maybe that will encourage others to do the same and a movement may be started. Maybe not. Just wanted to get it out there that respect for one another is not overrated. It’s a value that should be instilled with our future children and encouraged to grow.

“We all require and want respect; man or woman, black or white. It’s our basic human right.”
– Aretha Franklin

Published by

creativeboho

I'm a Full-Time Paralegal and getting my B.A.S. in Supervision and Management. I've always loved to write and hope to write at least one book that will be published. That's the overall goal. When I'm not writing, working or studying I like to hang out with my husband and our three furry kids.

Leave a Reply

