Open Discussion on Anxiety-Part 2

This past weekend I had another anxiety attack. That makes two this month. A few years ago I was diagnosed as having anxiety. It was so nice then to finally put a name to what I was going through, what I had been going through for a long time. It all made sense once there was a name to it. But that’s not entirely accurate. I’m still trying to understand anxiety and how I can alleviate it. I don’t believe there’s any getting rid of it, but I know I can take steps to ease it to an almost obscure level. I’m still working on this, so it’s a work in progress.

It’s hard to get people to understand anxiety. People automatically think it’s something controllable, or that you must be scared of everything, easily spooked. That’s not the case. Some people have certain triggers that make them anxious more than other things. We’re not necessarily constantly scared, we can just become really anxious in certain situations or when something specific happens.

Once the panic attach is intent on coming, it can’t be stopped. The attacks sometime can come without warning or sympathy. The trick is to remind yourself who you are, what you’re going through and that everything will be fine. It’s like your mind is whacking out and that same mind has to try and convince it to calm down. It can be confusing right? I’ve learned a lot, but I don’t believe I’ve learned everything there is about anxiety. I can’t predict an anxiety attack but I can feel it coming, by then it’s unstoppable. The attack will come, you just have to decide how you will handle it, how much control you will let it have. At this point of realization I try different exercises, slow/calm breathing, talking aloud about what I’m going through.

If I had to describe the feeling of an anxiety episode, it’s like riding out a bad storm. You just hang in there doing your exercises and then eventually the sun will come out, the episode will subside and you will feel like normal again. That’s really the best part, because before that you feel like the world is ending or that you’re not going to last through it. That may seem silly to most, but that is the brain tricking itself. It tells you that something is wrong, makes you feel like your heart is beating fast and that you can’t breathe. It’s all in the brain. The brain is a truly beautiful and wonderful thing but it can cause you to see things that aren’t there or to feel something happening that is simply not happening. All we can do is try and explain it to other people, but it’s tough because the brain and the entirety of its power is still a mystery. We just have to be patient.

Published by

creativeboho

I'm a Full-Time Paralegal and getting my B.A.S. in Supervision and Management. I've always loved to write and hope to write at least one book that will be published. That's the overall goal. When I'm not writing, working or studying I like to hang out with my husband and our three furry kids.

Leave a Reply

