One of My Biggest Driving Pet Peeves…EVER!!!!

Being an offensive/defensive driver (yes, it is possible to be both), I have a lot of experience with how other people drive. I’m not saying I’m the best driver, I know I have issues, but man oh man, there are so many other drivers that really need a re-education before hitting the roads again. My negatives/faults consist of occasionally speeding (5-15 mph over), riding close to some another vehicle and when I’m agitated and frustrated I can tend to cut people off (but never in a threatening way, I never do it to where it would make someone wreck, etc., sometimes I really think it’s the only way to wake someone up, but I’m sure there could be better ways). I like to call my driving Safe Chaotic Driving. I’m paranoid of other people’s driving, and rightfully so at times, I think.

Are you ever out and about and see someone driving and react, “Oh my goodness, really?!?!” I have one of those moments at least 2-3 times a day as I make my 20 minute trek to and from work. Forgive me, as I’m obviously venting. Instead of taking it out on the road, I’m taking it all out here. There’s a particular issue that peeves me more than merging. Yes…more than merging! I’ll paint the picture for you; help you to be able to visually see what I’m talking about.

You’re driving on the highway, going a good 65-70 miles per hour, when all of a sudden all three lanes are backed up, stopped and then going slow. You edge along wondering what monstrous accident could be causing this much traffic… Your mind is rushing with possibilities thinking of everything that could possibly be causing this much traffic, but you forget to think of the most likely cause, stupidity. You finally edge up to where you can see the cause of all this chaos, and you see it, it’s a car/cars/police car/scene of the accident that is well off the road.

Then you wonder, how could a diversion on the side of the road, back up traffic for three entire lanes??? It’s because people want to (1) know what’s going on and (2) be overly cautious so the same thing doesn’t happen to them. It’s amazing that as soon as you pass said diversion on the side of the road, traffic miraculously speeds back up to the ideal speed. This is truly one of my biggest pet peeves while driving. All of that mess and chaos for something on the side of the road?? I would understand if it was debris in the road or an accident taking up lanes, that makes sense. But really, slowing down and/or stopping for something on the side of the road is dangerous and just doesn’t make sense.

This is my vent of the week, I promise, because it just really heats up my blood every time I experience it or even think about it. Please, let’s change this so we can help limit traffic delays. Thank you!!

Published by

creativeboho

I'm a Full-Time Paralegal and getting my B.A.S. in Supervision and Management. I've always loved to write and hope to write at least one book that will be published. That's the overall goal. When I'm not writing, working or studying I like to hang out with my husband and our three furry kids.

Leave a Reply

