Racism, Taught vs. Inherent

After the recent incidents that have occurred in this country over the last several months, I thought I should say something. There’s been a big debate about whether Racism is inherent (in our blood) or if it is taught. I find it amazing that people out there think it is in our blood to be racist against each other. I’m living proof that it’s not. While growing up, I didn’t identify my classmates or friends by race, I called them by their names and defined them as who they were as human beings. Fortunately I had amazing parents who taught me to be accepting and social with other individuals, that although they looked a little different from I, that we were all the same on the inside, that we all had brains and we all had heart.

Racism, unfortunately, can be taught and that is part of our problem as a society today. We still have people out there, spreading the sand over the fires we’ve lit. I would love for there to be an educational program or movement, where race identification ends all together. It would not be, “Hello, My name is Allison and I’m a White Female” or “Hello, my name is Jennifer and I’m an African-American Female.” It SHOULD be “Hello, my name is Allison. Hello, my name is Jennifer.”  We should identify each other by name, not race. A part of this solution would be for everyone to admit, that every racial identity can have its racism or prejudice against another racial identify. It’s not just white people racist against black or black racist against white, every race seems to have racism rooted somewhere else. You can’t always prohibit what someone thinks, but you can limit what is publicly said. Then that goes back to free speech.. So I can see why this is such a hot topic/controversy.

My hope for the future is that we can try to end at least the publicized racism. If you have a racist thought, which may happen, keep it to yourself and don’t repeat it around children because they do hear/mimic everything. I want my child to grow up as I did, unafraid of those who are a little different. I want him/her to have friends of all types or nationalities. I know that we may not be able to solve racism in a day, but we can start down the road to that possibility. We need to do it right.

Published by

creativeboho

I'm a Full-Time Paralegal and getting my B.A.S. in Supervision and Management. I've always loved to write and hope to write at least one book that will be published. That's the overall goal. When I'm not writing, working or studying I like to hang out with my husband and our three furry kids.

Leave a Reply

