Father’s Day, A Day of Respect and Remembrance

Today was Father’s Day, as everyone knows. It was the first one since my grandfather passed in October 2014. It was a day mixed with laughter but also mixed with that aching feeling, like our bodies knew what we were missing something before our minds could catch up. I tried my best to be there for my father, to make him feel loved and cared for. I worry about him constantly because not long after losing his father, he quite possibly could have lost his mother as well. He’s been running a million miles an hour and hasn’t had time to really let it all out or in. He will have that time soon.

We went to the cemetery today, brushed off some family tombstones and placed flowers at each “father’s” grave. I felt that it was right, for family to visit on this holiday to pay our respects. It was cool to see others there as well, morning their lost fathers/grandfathers. The highlight of the day was eating brunch at the Casa Marina, where Evan & I are getting married in less than 6 months. It was really fun and was really sinking in, how everything, especially time, was going so fast. I’m not getting more nervous as we get closer, but actually getting excited and restless. I want the day to be here but then I don’t want it to go by too fast either.

I hope that everyone with fathers still present, celebrated them today. I hope everyone realized that a good father is a blessing and he should be thanked for the rest of his life, not just this one day, for everything he has done or sacrificed for you, his child. I have the utmost respect for my father and I owe him everything. I love him very much and always wish him the best.

Published by

creativeboho

I'm a Full-Time Paralegal and getting my B.A.S. in Supervision and Management. I've always loved to write and hope to write at least one book that will be published. That's the overall goal. When I'm not writing, working or studying I like to hang out with my husband and our three furry kids.

Leave a Reply

